Little Africa, Melbourne 12-2014

Finding somewhere open and available to eat near Flemington on Boxing Day dinner was proving to be a last minute debacle. There's the standard (however good quality) options of Chef Lagenda, Laksa King and I Love Dumplings but the day needed a slight change to the cheap heavy Asian flavours in the area. A search on Urbanspoon uncovered Little Africa with its ridiculous 96% rating. A quick phone call confirmed they somehow still had dining vacancy and it was set.

The menu makes it easy to order - individual stew or the vegetarian or meat/seafood combinations of the day. Chai with kamman tasted like a tea with heavy cardamom infusion. I had to add half tsp of sugar for my own palate.

Of the vegetable dishes, my particular favourites were the tumtummo (split lentils stewed in a thick but mild sauce with seasoning) and exceptional fool (fava beans, cooked until tender mashed then mixed with ghee butter and seasoning, lemon juice & cumin topped with green chilli, onions and tomato). The meat and fish curries were also good, particularly the lamb zighini (cubes of lamb slowly cooked in a rich berbere sauce with mixed spices and clarified butter).

Injera had the right mild amount of sour tang which to me is essential in this cuisine. Although I was a little disappointed that an extra injera was listed at $1 each both online and inhouse (which is the retail price in Melbourne - visit Racecourse Road) whereas in the end they told me it was now $2. Not a big deal but unexpected in the end.

It has been a while since I had Ethiopian food last in either Footscray, Flemington, Collingwood or Nairobi. Although slightly more expensive I'd happily come back.

Next time I would order the combination of the day again. Even though I have my favourites, it's the variety of 6 that keeps the meal more interesting.

Little Africa on Urbanspoon