Lobster Shack, Cozumel 07-2019

I was quite excited to read about Lobster Shack. A cheap affordable lobster place in the middle of town near the port area. It sounds too good to be true almost - and sadly it is.

It was a very quiet evening in Cozumel and even though it was a little late after sunset I expected more people. The rather disinterested guy serving didn't have any warmth or smile.

I had the lobster bowl (235pesos). Flavours overall were good, but the lobster itself wasn't. It was precooked and cut, then unrolled from cling film onto the grill. As a result it was mushy and lacked that bitey lobster texture.

Also had a tamarind juice which was brought in from somewhere else. I guess that's alright...

I don't know how people can rate this place (I thought Americans knew something about lobster).