Lupita Spitalfields, London 12-2012

I wanted to eat somewhere nearby home and new. My first choice was sadly closed for the Christmas season so wandered down the road and came across a name I remember reading on the hot-dinners website so decided to wander inside.

Lupita is a Mexican chain with a new branch in Spitalfields. It isn't in the main market area, but further down along the quieter parts of Commercial Street, which possibly partially explains why it wasn't particularly busy.

- Horchata - I like this Mexican drink, although I felt they added too much cinnamon that it formed chunks;
- Tostada de Atun Intramar (yellowfin tuna slices on a crispy corn tortilla with caramelized onions, avocado, chipotle sauce & lime) - tuna had been cured for so long it had cooked through. The combination of avocado, chipotle & lime was adequate;
- Taco Carnitas (Mexican-barbecued pork with cheese) - basic-flavoured pork with the cheese adding no flavour;
- Huitlacoche (Aztec 'truffle' served as a taco) - recommended as an unusual mushroom dish, which did have a few nice earthy flavours but nothing I'd consider special.

The place itself looks a bit too much like a school cafeteria. The wait staff are excellent however.

Next time I would order from Boho Mexica instead - excellent Mexican food, not far down the same road, lovely evening atmosphere.

Lupita - Spitalfields on Urbanspoon