Malaysian Chapter, Canberra 12-2015

I had about 5 hours to spend in Belconnen whilst getting my car serviced. It was lucky that between my resting spot in the Westfield foodcourt (with free wifi) and the car service centre was Malaysian Chapter (which I'd heard first from the new Entertainment Book voucher a little while ago) and Goodberry's (which a friend insisted I try).

After a few hours of draining my laptop battery it was time for lunch. The humid 37C heat didn't make curry the obvious choice for lunch, but I was already committed. I couldn't decide between typical Malaysian noodles (ie. laksa) or roti. I saw the staff appeared Malaysian Indian rather than Malaysian Chinese so decided to go down the curry pathway.

- Roti chanai with lentil curry $3 - mildly flakey and a bit chewy but overall felt a little underwhelming. I prefer my roti wispy and light but buttery;
- Nasi lemak with beef curry (fragrant coconut rice served with sambal, peanuts, crispy anchovies, cucumber and hard boiled egg) $13.5 - I was hoping the beef curry was going to be rendang (as in the full menu) but was a more standard curry. The ingredients were all reasonable and made for an adequate meal.

If I'm ever back up on the north side at meal time, I'd opt to try their versions of noodles (laksa or mamak mee goreng) or beef rendang. I don't think I'd order from the lunch menu next time.

Malaysian Chapter Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato