Mishiguene, Buenos Aires 11-2016

Mishiguene sounded like something a little different to the rest of places available in BA. The Eater 38 (http://www.eater.com/maps/best-buenos-aires-restaurants/mishiguene) summarises it as Jewish and Middle Eastern with exceptional bone-in pastrami. That was more than enough reason for me to visit, along with the convenient location between MALBA and Palermo and near the heladerias Jauja and Volta.

I walked past and read the menu on the outside restaurant wall. The dishes sounded fantastic (pastrami, lamb and what I thought was falafel) and seemed reasonably priced at around (ARS120-170 each) possible for sharing. Unfortunately once inside there was only a set lunch available (ARS260 including a drink and either tea/coffee). I would have much preferred just the food but sadly that wasn't an option.

The lunch options were explained as either a single plate from the salad bar that you can't share (actually looked quite good), pastrami or fish of the day with an addition (guarniciones), varenikes pasta, or pastrami sandwich.

Some lovely soft white pita were served to start with a thick hummus topped with walnuts. It was one of the best Middle Eastern pitas I've had.

- Pastron de Novillo con fondo de coccion natural - beef (brisket perhaps) with delightfully soft tendrils of delicious salinity meat. I haven't had much experience with pastrami but this was exceptional. I added the side of farfalaj salteado con cebolla which I thought was falafel (even though that would be an odd side to pastrami). In fact farfel I later discovered is a noodle with little chewiness (reminded me of a thin barley) and cooked in an onion sauce;
- Varenikes - essentially a potato-filled (although I think the menu said chicken) ravioli topped with onion sauce and fried onions. It was very thick and heavy dish overall with a flavour of (expectedly) onion and salt.

The food was satisfying but I wasn't thrilled about having to pay for two drinks as part of the set lunch menu. I'd happily go back during dinnertime and eat the pastrami again.