Mocan & Green Grout, Canberra 11-2015

I had Mocan & Green Grout on my eat list for a while. I can't quite remember where I read about it, most likely a Canberra recommended food list or best breakfasts or something along those lines. New Acton wasn't the most convenient area for me to get to any morning, so this was likely the main reason it took nearly 2 years to get there.

It's a small cosy place where opportune seating means you can watch the cooking action unfolding in front of you in what I would've thought was an impossibly small area to feed the hungry waiting for gourmet breakfasts and coffees. The menu is also quite small (which probably helps given the limited space) and makes decisions easier.

- Chai tea - I'm slowly turning from chai lattes to chai tea with milk (courtesy of Local Press). This version was ok but I'd probably get a smoothie instead next time;
- Smashed Eggs with Smoked Trout, Nettle, Sorrel, Parmesan $18 - I can't say I've ever seen smashed eggs before and it does look a bit like a mess. It seemed a bit of an odd way to present the dish with the expensive ingredient of smoked trout hidden underneath (and only a small amount of it);
- Baked Eggs, Charred Eggplant, Harissa, Meredith Chevre $17 - baked eggs

What I can say is the bread from A. Baker is phenomenal. I went to follow up by buying my own loaf from there but they were out of loaves that appealed to me. I'm happy I finally tried this place, but I do personally prefer the food and drink at others - Local Press, Cupping Room and ONA would be the main ones. 

If I was in the area I'd probably try the breakfast at A. Baker considering their excellent bread and also the outstanding dinner from 2014 (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/a-baker-canberra-11-2014). Slow cooked local eggs, crispy smoked salmon, sauteed silver beet, ginger, charred bread and a takeaway of 100% dark rye or dark ale sourdough sounds like an excellent morning.

Mocan  Green Grout Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato