Nablus, Sarajevo 09-2018

Nablus is the place in Palestine where kunafa (aka kunefe as I've had it previously in Turkey) originated, and the owner/cook in this place is from there, hence the name. I was reassured by one of his friends and customers that was the real deal.

We seemed to have entered at a busy period in the late afternoon, where a host of orders were ahead of us (mostly coming from a few who ordered many to takeaway) and as a result had to wait 20mins. Not so bad in the context of things and gave me an opportunity to see his technique from pale shreds of white cheese to a finished product, dark and crisp and inviting.

It is definitely different to the Turkish ones I've had. Particularly the stringy cheese tastes very much like mild cheese, and had a smoother texture than the wisps of kataifi I'm used to. Additionally the sugar syrup wasn't nearly as sweet.

It was nice, it was good, I liked it. I can't say for certain which version I like better, but perhaps the Turkish very slightly.