Nove on Luce, Adelaide 10-2015

In quite possibly the funkiest decorated cafe I've ever seen, this place would have been fantastic to have more time to sit, read a newspaper, scroll through a phone and enjoy the atmosphere.

The menu is quite limited with the specialty being pies, sausage rolls and a handful of sandwiches.

My first day there I felt like bircher muesli. They didn't have this but accommodated by making me a takeaway cup of yoghurt with granola. It was adequate but nothing special. Some fresh fruit would have probably made all the difference.

The second day I sat for a bit longer and had a croque monsieur. The cheese was nice, the ham was fine, but the bread quality could have been more exciting than plain wholemeal. I suppose I would've preferred something seeded or even slices of a sourdough loaf.

To takeaway I had a homestyle sausage roll and a famous neufchatel (cheese) chicken pie. Both were eaten 3 days later and remained quite delicious. The pastry was more flaky than buttery, but that could be attributed to the delay and rewarming in the microwave then oven at home.

Overall the setting, friendliness and more time to enjoy would bring me back here. I'd settle for a fresh sausage roll or chicken pie or try their roast beef on sourdough.

Nove on Luce Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato