Over The Road Cafe, Melbourne 01-2014

My dad is a sucker for Scoopon vouchers for meals. Ever since I donated him one I couldn't use for a breakfast near Bridge Road, he sets out to research each offer to determine if it's a good deal or not. After about 2 months of constant reminders, we settled on a breakfast day in Northcote. 2 breakfasts + drinks for $29. It's not a bad deal considering you'll pay $40-45 in Melbourne generally for somewhere nice.

Over The Road is a cafe which also doubles as a store for antiques, homewares and general crap. Don't get me wrong, some of the items, particularly the wall clocks, are quite nice. Over the road from the cafe is a nursery, for which you can get a discount on plants if you eat at the cafe. It's not a bad setup and gives you somewhere to relax, eat and be interested in your surroundings.

Luckily the food isn't bad either. I wouldn't say the breakfast was anything incredible, but I'd be happy to go back. Preferably with a Scoopon.

- Fried eggs, hash brown, mushrooms, sausages, bacon, spinach
- Halloumi, poached egg, chorizo, sourdough and rocket

Over the Road on Urbanspoon