Pho Phu Quoc, Canberra 01-2016

I had to write one final post for Pho Phu Quoc. After eating Vietnamese food for the past 15 years (two Vietnamese girlfriends, their parents, going to Vietnam, living off Victoria Street, eating in Springvale, watching Luke Nguyen and owning all his cookbooks...), the homestyle excellent cooking of Pho Phu Quoc always made me happy.

Since my first visit there in the old premises (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/pho-phu-quoc-canberra-09-2014) to watching the mayhem of customers in the bigger and slightly more upmarket new location, I've found my staples in an excellent 3 colour drink (usually about 5-6 colours, although I'd prefer the ice to be more finely shaved), the exceptional fish hot pot and the delicious mussels. There are many other dishes I have enjoyed (such as big juicy prawns, tofu, green papaya salad, fried rice paper rolls) there but those are my favourites.

I tried the banh xeo once (difficult for me as only served at lunch but quite good) and the pho twice (nice and warming but I prefer the soup flavour from Fyshwick market and Bistro Nguyen) and can still recommend them.

I met Sue (the lovely owner) and her mum back at my workplace in early 2014 and she always remembers me and welcomes me back. I'll come again sometime...

I've now moved onto my next Vietnamese-ville in Footscray and I hope I can find somewhere as good.

Pho Phu Quoc Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato