Rainbow Restaurant, Wadi Musa 06-2021

Staying down toward the Petra end meant it needed a drive (and a really detoured one also considering the main road was closed off for works) and finding street parking which was lucky to be in a quiet season. I actually wanted to primarily try Bahia Rooftop to see the sunset from high up, but it was closed. Rainbow was the second choice and only 1 minute walk away. I did mentally note that the restaurant directly across the roundabout Beit Al-Barakah was really busy - maybe a sign to try it next time.

But Rainbow was a little hole on the roundabout with a bit of outdoor seating to see the sunset down the descending road and get a bit of street atmosphere.

They seem to be best known for the kebabs and shawarma. But the reason I chose here was because they had local dishes that I wanted. I recall eating mansaf at a restaurant in Amman back in 2009, and it was the best food I had in Jordan maybe also because it wasn't part of the tour group restaurants.

- Jordanian mansaf (lamb cooked in yogurt served with rice, local bread & nuts) - reasonably tender lamb in a rich creamy yoghurt served with additional slightly tangy sauce to drizzle over and soak into the rice. Delicious;
- Mandi (chicken & rice with special blend of spices & vegetables cooked in a pit underground) 7JD - grilled chicken with mildly seasoned but nicely coloured rice.

Both meals were topped with a very thin paper bread. If I was cynical, I'd say that after ordering the young waiter went out down a lane and brought some takeaway boxes back. Just being cynical. At least the food was authentic and delicious and I would definitely go back.

There is also a fresh kunafa place just around the corner called Sanabel for a fresh dessert.