Restaurante Las Flamitas, Cozumel 07-2019

Economicos are cheap little eateries in Mexico - the local cafes essentially. As we walked past one, I stopped to look inside. A local older guy noticed and gave me a solid thumbs up and a nod. A few minutes later, I was in.

It's local food to the Yucatan region. The staff were (all older men and) very friendly in Spanish.

I couldn't remember what albondigas was - the waiter couldn't describe it, so he brought me one in a bowl. A delicious meatball in soup. Despite this I ordered other local delicacies. They also served a lighter version of the soup (vegetable) which was quite plain and of course some salsa and hot sauce.

I first discovered poc chuc (the name and the dish) in the USA many years ago (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/poc-chuc-san-francisco-10-2011) and haven't had it since. This was the opportune time.

- Filete de pescad empanizado - very soft flakes of fish which was excellently cooked. The batter was not that crisp but ok;
- Poc-Chuc 80pesos - very tender, thin beaten pork chops.

 Simple and cheap meal.