RJ's Takeaway, Canberra 03-2015

Leaving work at 9pm, I felt like I needed something unhealthy. The options were limited to a Brodburger and chips or trying what I'd read about several months ago which was closeby. One of the few food vans in Canberra that seems to have lasted a while is RJ's. Part of the appeal is the 7 days open from 8pm (until 1, 3 or 5am depending upon which day) meaning nasty food is never too far away.

Located in the carpark of Woden Westfield, I should have known what to expect but it took me by surprise. Late teens exemplifying the most bogan in town with multi-coloured hair arrays, wack clothes, balloons attached to cars, drinking cans of cheap booze and eating chips with minimally educated voices to match. What a place.

I felt equally sorry for the American middle-aged lady sitting next to me as we sat in silence waiting for our food and observing the fauna. As I picked up my order our eyes met and we smiled knowingly. "Interesting demographic here," I said. She laughed and nodded.

- Hamburger with the Lot - thin, very well down patty and fried egg both of which had a typical burnt grill edge to it, melted cheese and the refreshing ingredients of lettuce, nice beetroot and pineapple and some bacon;
- 1/2 Chips - a good sized bag of McCain's frozen deep-fried and topped with salt and pepper. Very good and satisfying actually.

The burger was pretty average and filled a hole in my stomach. The chips were the bigger winner. I'd eat here again although Brodburger certainly is more satisfying and has a better atmosphere.