Sarona, London 08-2018

A middle eastern meal awaited at Sarona. They had a 50% special which was lucky because otherwise I wouldn't have known about it. But I'm glad I went because the food was overall delicious and I'd even go back and pay full price. There were a couple of misses but choosing selectively now would be much easier.

- Heritage tomato salad, creme fraiche, fresh oregano £8;
- Fried cauliflower, tahini, sumak £8;
- Hummus masabacha £7 - chickpeas topped with chickpeas;
- Burnt aubergine, tahini & date syrup £8 - very nice too;
- Labneh with zaatar £4 - probably not needed with the other assorted mayo and dips. But cheap;
- Lamb arayes, tahini & harissa £8 - easily my favourite dish. Warm delicious earthy lamb in a (slightly too) crisp pastry shell;
- Prawn kebab, organic lettuce, harissa mayo £14 - a little disappointing with the prawns overcooked and tough;
- Chicken pargit, labneh, tomato seeds £12 - also disappointing with the chicken flat and dry;
- Tahini icecream £8 - I like black sesame icecream and now I also like white sesame icecream;
- Panna cotta, pistachios, date syrup £7 - good flavour but the panna cotta was too solid and had a gel layer on top as though left in the fridge for too long uncovered.

It was served with puffy warm flatbread to soak up and combine the dishes.

Overall very good indeed.