Shilin Night Market, Taipei 01-2010

Shilin night market is Taipei's largest and most famous. I spent a good 2 hours wandering back and forth, absorbing the smells and atmosphere, and trying to figure out what to eat.

Without much background into Taiwan's or the market's specialties, I settled on an oyster omelette, oyster noodles and aiyu jelly drink.

After eating all this I found some enormous fried chicken (schnitzel) for sale and a long queue. This triggered my interested and I wrestled for about 30mins deciding if I could stomach one. In the end my greed didn't win and I left with only the visual memory of it. In hindsight I should've taken advantage of the opportunity (as I've since discovered the chicken is probably the most well known food there) but I may as well save it for if I ever go back to Taiwan.