Sori Cafe, Melbourne 03-2016

I was in the mood for laksa but enroute to Chef Lagenda was begrudgingly dissuaded into a recommended homestyle Korean place in Kensington. I actually like Korean dining and so in order to make up for laksa, there had to be a strong flavoured soup dish (usually chilli-based) or my other staple of chilli rice cakes. I didn't see tteokbokki on the menu but at least there was bibimbap, spicy seafood soup and if necessary japchae to select from.

The introductory snacks were much more unsual than the typical kimchi and pickle vegies. They served slivers of potato, egg wrapped in egg and some vegetables. I wouldn't have minded some kimchi though actually.

- Gyoja $6.9 - little dumplings (gyoza?) very well fried and crisp on all sides. The vegie filling was plain but enhanced well by the vinegar;
- Bibimbab with tofu $17.5 - the elements were nice but the sauce wasn't strong enough for me. I like the deep intense flavour of gochujang and add a lot of it. Also despite being served in a hot pot, it wasn't hot enough to sear and crisp the rice base which is an essential part of the dish in my opinion;
- Spicy seafood tofu soup $19.5 - moderate flavour tasty soup with nice pieces of prawn, calamari and tofu with enoki mushrooms. Served still bubbling and steaming with rice. Great dish.

Other customers seemed to be regulars with conversations of familiarity between them and the staff. A lot of people about seemed to be about to get married. The food was good with some limitations as mentioned and seemed a bit expensive for Korean food in Melbourne (my other comparator being Victoria Street). But it's good to support wonderfully friendly small businesses doing their best to feed people well.

After leaving I noticed another Korean place around the corner (Frying Colours) touting their fried chicken. I'll have to try that next time.

Sori Cafe Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato