St. Roch Market, New Orleans 07-2021

A little upmarket foodhall in New Orleans that houses gourmet coffee (and beans), an ATM in the corner, a Malaysian laksa place (that tempted me so) and oysters. It was the oysters that we went for, particularly for their Mon-Fri happy hour 4-7pm which did gulf oysters at USD6 for 6 raw or 3 broiled.

The raw oysters were fine - decent sized one that filled the shells. They were a creamy texture and quite mild, in contrast to my preferred bit of firm bite and a strong salinity. The broiled had some melted cheese on top which were also ok but I always prefer the unadulterated raw versions.

Nonetheless for that price I can't complain at all.

I can't remember if the laksa place was closed, or if it was just that we wanted to eat somewhere along Marigny Street in between some jazz. That ended up being a bit of a mistake because there wasn't much there we wanted to eat.