Super Taqueria El Amigo Jose, Cozumel 07-2019

Naturally I wanted to eat some traditional tacos. On my Cozumel list I had Cuatro Tacos, but for some reason walked past many times but never in, and El Amigo Mario, which I walked to multiple but was never open.

Instead one evening we walked past Jose and made a mental note that it looked quite local. And indeed the next night we went back and discovered it is. Maybe because of quieter times, the full menu list wasn't available, and they only had 3 types - surtida (mixed), maciza (beef I think brisket maybe?) and pancita (stomach). 14pesos per taco - not bad at all.

A soup was a very beefy consumme. Maciza was quite a plain beef and not too bad. Pancita was stomach or omentum and all soft and fatty. I ordered pancita instead of surtida by mistake (or they misunderstood me) and so ordered a surtida in the end. Lo and behold, it was just a mix of the maciza and pancita. It was served with white onions, hot green sauce, salsa not much tomato left.

Dessert flan was very nice with caramel at bottom.

Definitely not the best taco fillings I had. But it's a local experience (I think).