Tahina Bar, Melbourne 03-2016

Allow me to describe just how excited I was to read about Tahina Bar for my upcoming visit to Northcote. It isn't an area I frequent often at all and choosing between here and Wild Yak Tibetan was easier than I thought.

Israeli cooking - there's only one name that comes to find for that which is Yotam Ottolenghi. For some reason the "foodies" and vegetarians I know in Melbourne have never heard of him. It's time to educate yourselves. Owning his cookbooks (Ottolenghi, Plenty, Plenty More, Jerusalem and Nopi), watching his mediterranean feast TV show and going to his restaurants (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/ottolenghi-london-10-2013) makes me a bit of a fan.

I had read about Tahina's Israeli roots and excellent falafels. My second interest in Middle Eastern cuisine stemming from the incredible fresh hot falafels crushed in pita for 50cents in Jordan, to the discovery of a restaurant which spawned my favourite outdoor eatery in London (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/yalla-yalla-london-02-2013-03-2013-05-2013-10-2013) and then to trying to find a replacement in Canberra (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/habibiz-canberra-09-2015).

Tahina Bar seems like a takeaway place that happens to have bar seating and a few outdoor tables. There's two main specials - shakshuka and falafel. They serve a variety of these too which keeps things interesting as well as some other dishes and hipster smoothies (I'm not sure if there's an Israeli connection or just appeal for the local market).

- Red Shakshuka (poached eggs in tomatoes, herbs & spices with Israeli salad, spicy green salad, pickled cabbage, hummus, tahini & pita bread) $15 - savoury tomato base like sugo which was good but I didn't feel went well with pita. Maybe it's all the baked egg dishes (eg. cazuela) with sourdough that I'm used to;
- Falafel Salad (3 green parsley, coriander & mint + 3 red pepper & chilli falafels, with hummus, Israeli salad, spicy green salad, pickled cabbage, tahini, parsley & za'atar spice) $14.5 - I preferred the mild spice & chilli of the red falafels more than the green. The soft creamy falafel textures crushed well into the pita although I prefer the outsides much thicker and crispier which adds a huge textural contrast. Nonetheless this dish was delicious and the pita sandwiches were fantastic.

I ordered the $2 extra for pita and hummus with the falafel salad. I wonder if that stacked with the pita & hummus that comes with the shakshuka or if I paid extra for nothing. In any case the 4 pitas was enough for 2 people and 2 mains but it would be good to know.

Chocolate Wendy's Frosty (banana, cacao, cacao nibs, maple syrup, Himalayan sea salt, coconut milk, ice) $10 was a beautiful thick drink of dark chocolate. I'd happily have this again but the Monte Carlo and Purple Protein Boost also sound enticing.

Tahina Bar Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato