Taste of Bangladesh, Canberra 02-2015

In October 2014 I took a taxi to the airport. It's an expensive $25 10 minute trip but what options are there? In any case on this one occasion, the friendly driver Mohammed and I were talking about his background. He comes from Bangladesh. This interested me somewhat - I haven't met a Bangladeshi person (that I know of at least) since leaving Whitechapel. I mentioned how Whitechapel is full of Bengali people and similarly has a large number of restaurants that I had my pet dishes. Mohammed mentioned how he used to work in an Indian restaurant in Canberra and happened to be soon opening a restaurant in Manuka with the best naan maker in town. I was intrigued and promised to visit the restaurant when it opened.

Our conversation took my memories back to the first meal I had in Whitechapel at Royal PFC (Perfect Fried Chicken https://www.facebook.com/pages/Royal-Pfc/146879172016202) and the odd friendship I made with the owner Ripon. The memories of Bangladesh fried chicken and biryani (at Royal PFC) and Pakistani lamb dishes of dry curry and biryani (at Needoo) still fill my dreams.

I finally found an opportunity to visit Taste of Bangladesh (and India). I get the feeling the India part was added to make it more mainstream to the public who probably otherwise would not know what food to expect. I think this is unnecessary but it's advertising. The restaurant is inside an arcade and upstairs which makes it much less obvious and without the foot traffic from the sidewalks outside that every other place in Manuka benefits from, which is a shame because the food is better and cheaper than what is around.

- Sour Lassi - probably the only thing that wasn't to my taste. It seems much more salty than sour, and not quite what I'd expect from a lassi. It is near identical to the buttermilk drink I had in India - a definite acquired sour fat drink;
- Mango Lassi - made from mango pulp, a nice sweet yoghurty drink. I'd prefer it a little thicker and less sweet, but it wasn't syrupy and there was no discernible sugar crystals which is great.

I was only interested in the Bangladeshi dishes, which are helpfully marked on the menu.

- Kacchi Biryani - a uniquely flavoured biryani with tender pieces of goat (I think). Identical flavour to Royal PFC but less oily. Unlike the various Indian biryanis (ie. no vegetables, seeds, fruit). I can't explain the flavour, you just have to try it;
- Prawn Masala - very generous serving of 8 king prawns (for $16.50) cooked with some fresh crunch in a flavoursome grainy curry;
- Duck Curry - two tender duck legs in a very mild understated smooth curry;
- Eggplant Bhorta - roasted eggplant with the skin stripped then pulped. Had a powerful smokey char personality;
- Garlic Naan - very soft, crisp on top, not thick and pillowy (if you like it that way) but very very good. I'd personally prefer much more garlic on top.

The food was excellent and very different flavours to Indian restaurants (and cheaper/better value than those in Canberra also). The biryani gave me a nostalgic smile. I'll definitely be back.

Next time I would order any of the food dishes again and keen to try the other Bangladeshi dishes (Fish Bengali and Goat Curry).

Taste of Bangladesh on Urbanspoon