The Cupping Room, Canberra 12-2014 & 01-2015

The first time I went to Cupping Room the wait ended up being too long for my stomach to handle. It was an impromptu visit after arriving at the airport that resulted in the second visit in the early afternoon and an immediate seat. Our waitress was a lovely lady whose accent I'm still trying to place - an unusual European or South American perhaps? Maybe I'll ask next time.

The coffee is proudly Ona's and I'm told it's good. I like how the menu espouses the quality of their "local real chai infused with Bonsoy" and I intend to try it one day, as few places make chai lattes with soy which certainly complements the flavour much more than cow's milk. However the barrier to this on both occasions has been this - Dark Chocolate, Cherry & Coconut King Shake. Imagine a cherry ripe blended, chilled and topped with additional desiccated coconut. It is as brilliant as it sounds and a sure fire menu item on my future imaginary cafe.

- Ham Hock, Corn & Potato Fritters (with two poached eggs, 'cuppers hot sauce' & a cress & alfalfa salad);
- Cascara Cured Salmon (with horseradish cream, cress, rye & curroway crutons, pickled fennel, beetroot jelly & a poached egg);
- Asian Honey-Glazed Pork Ribs (with purple slaw & lime) - meaty chewy ribs (rather than bone-slipping) with a reasonable glaze;
- special I can't quite remember with crumbed fish, potatoes and vibrant pickled vegetables.

The food is good, the drinks are great. I'll be back for the King Shake and a side serving of food.

The Cupping Room on Urbanspoon