The Hot Chicken Project, Geelong 08-2016

I do like Belle's Hot Chicken - quite a lot (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/belles-hot-chicken-melbourne-02-2016). I've frequented the Brunswick Street establishment and recently discovered the Windsor branch. I was delighted to find Geelong had it's own version (although I'm not sure why they changed the name).

The premise is the same - chicken in a tray with a side. There are a few little differences such as the fries are not Old Bay (ie. there is no spice mix) and some of the cuts and specials are different too. Maybe it's catered toward a Geelong taste that I'm not familiar with.

A special entree of chicken skins was essentially crisp flattened battered skin with a sweet sauce on top. It was ok but nothing special, and after one skin it was probably enough.

The dark meat chicken is fresh and has a crisp coating as I expect. The spice mix here seems to be saltier and less spiced than Belle's. The Fish Sandwich is fish coated in the same spice mix topped with too much mustard which clearly overpowers the fish and spice mix. I thought the sandwich part would mean a burger, rather than served on a slice of white bread (which would make the other one a dark meat sandwich).

Overall the meal was fine but I couldn't help but feel disappointed expecting the full Belle's flavour extravaganza. I'll await my return to the mothership. Next time in the area I'd probably try Pistol Pete's Food n Blues.

The Hot Chicken Project Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato