The Laundromat, Reykjavik 01-2018

I had listed The Laundromat as a place to eat breakfast in Reykjavik. The dirty breakfast does have all the elements that would make a memorable morning meal but the price at 2990ISK was a little prohibitive. Nonetheless it's a very cute place with the walls plastered with photos of laundromats with their signs saying Laundromat from around the world. It's definitely a nice touch.

There are plenty of people have food, drinks or playing on Macbooks in the cafe and the shelves are adorned with old books.

Coffee (I'm told) was good and they even re-steamed my dad's one to make it extra hot.

I was interested in the chai latte but the waitress told me it was sweet and made from powder, so I can only assume that it is as far from the chai I like as could be. It did allow me to order a Beetroot smoothie 1090ISK with its thick red colour and smooth texture revealing clear notes of beetroot, sweet berry, banana and coconut. It was remarkably good.