The Meating Room, Canberra 11-2015

I'd read on the Good Food website about The Meating Room and there were two things that stuck most in my memory only - unmissable beef ribs and deep fried cheesecake. As a serious sucker for all ribs and most cheesecakes, I wanted to make this journey.

For whatever reason the first time I ended up here was during breakfast. It isn't that it was too early for cheesecake (or ribs even), more that after breakfast I really couldn't fit it in.

- Breakfast pizza (bacon, cheese, mushroom, tomato, rocket, baked egg & avocado salsa) $16.5 - tasted exactly how you'd expect given the ingredients. It's a different way of presenting and eating the standard full breakie.
- Gluten-free hash brown $3.5 - beast of a hash with very crisp outside and textured potato inside;
- Mint slice milkshake - chocolate milk with mint syrup and leaves was ok but a bit too sweet and syrupy for me.

A month later I made the trip back there for dinner. I didn't take any photos but managed to try the 6 hour braised beef short ribs ($32 - quite good, two solid ribs reasonably tender) and the elusive cheesecake ($14 - crisp outside, cheesecake inside that held together well and wasn't melted). Apparently the original was a mars bar cheesecake, but I'm certain that would've been too sweet for me, so this was a better alternative.

Overall the dinner was much more enjoyable to me than the breakfast. Neither of the dinner dishes were the best versions I've had, but both were good and satisfying.

I'd definitely come back, for dinner rather than breakfast. Bring your stomach.

The Meating Room Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato