The Red Door, Leura 08-2015

After checking out from Season of Mists in Blackheath, I was looking for a breakfast to energise for the horrendous rain, fog and truck weather conditions that would greet me on the drive back to Canberra. I actually wanted to try Anonymous cafe in Blackheath but it was unfortunately closed on Tuesdays for some reason. Hence the drive to Leura where I had noticed a couple of cafes the afternoon before.

They actually served a very good chai tea (which was served with milk) with strong hints of ginger and spices. I was surprised and how nice it was.

- Grilled Haloumi Salad (with green beans, avocado, braised chickpeas, rocket, fried egg) $18 - quite simply one of the best salads I've had. The grilled salty squeaky cheese, mild crunchy beans, more crunchy chickpeas, soft avocado, bitter rocket and cherry tomatoes and a paprika fried egg (which probably didn't add much but was good on it's own) on top;
- Salt Cod & Potato Fritters (with poached egg, hazelnuts, iceburg lettuce, aioili) $18 - mainly potato with occasional chunks of cod topped with a nice salad and texture of nuts.

Next time I'm at the Blue Mountains, The Red Door will certainly be on my list for breakfast. The house-cured ocean trout or duck maryland also sound like great options.

Click to add a blog post for The Red Door Cafe on Zomato