The Stable Whitechapel, London 06-2016

I'd finally returned for a short visit to my previous home of Whitechapel. It isn't easy finding new places in the area as it tends to be dominated by old curry houses (and for good reason).

I was pleasantly surprised to see a new opening of a pizza and particularly cider dedicated space near my Qbic Hotel. They offer a good value lunch deal for only £6.5 including a pizza and salad. Add a half-pint of your choice of cider for £2.5 extra and you have yourself a great meal.

I'd need more time (and an evening) to go through the ciders and pick a few favourites but for lunchtime the pizza was my main focus. I sampled the Hells Bells (spicy chopped pork, Naga chillies, garlic, red onion, basil leaves, field mushrooms, tomato sauce, mozzarella). I've been scarred by previous curries with Naga (aka ghost) chillies but I was told this was cooked into the pork sauce and wasn't too offensive and it was true - there was a definite heat and kick but other than a slight runny nose I handled it nicely. The chilli pieces themselves weren't too hot so I can only assume those were different chillies. I was surprised at how little tomato sauce there was (obviously having been thin and baked in rather than much liquid left) and the base was thin and quite crispy (although I do prefer the chew eg. Franco Manca).

Overall it's a very good lunch deal and on another day with friends and time would be a good way to pass the afternoon with cider tasting.

The Stable Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato