To Steki tou Psara (Fisherman's House), Santorini 07-2020

After reading Santorini Dave's blog, I had to try this place he said was the best for seafood in Santorini. That's a big recommendation considering the reputations of To Psaraki, Giorgaris and Ammoudi Bay. Kiria Roula must be the local name as our host hadn't been there but had heard of this place down by the Vlychada bay. There's lots of parking nearby which is also helpful.

They are incredible at frying food and the fried calamari (€8.5) is the best I've ever had with crisp batter texture, tender flesh and perfectively seasoned and flavoured. It was a large size for that price too. I wanted to try the cuttlefish, as I assume it would be the same quality, but on the second visit I decided to go for what we knew was spectacular and so the calamari again. The fresh fish is also fried (€10) for a very large serve of which half were really good (the cutlet and what looked like a scorpionfish to me?) and the half a little drier but still ok. Octopus (€12) was a cold salad style in vinegar, so not worth getting. The greek salad (€6) is large to share. There is a grill out the back but I couldn't see any items for grill. Maybe you have to request it?

We went twice (which is unusual for us) but such was the quality and price. I would definitely return here if I ever make it back to Santorini.