Trattoria La Fraschetta, Rome 07-2012

One of the joys of having spare time in Rome and staying in Trastevere is the option of wandering through the backstreets. Not only do you find many restaurants that English Google is yet to, there are also many delis selling fresh and dried ingredients, a few shops to visit, and otherwise a lazy time in peace.

La Fraschetta is apparently a good place to eat gnocchi. Gnocchi Thursday is a thing in Rome and so my intention was to come here for that. Gnocchi used to be my pasta of choice when I was young (about 10 years ago) because it seemed the best value, the most filling, great fun to chew, and there were no packets of this dried pasta in Safeway.

Sure enough on this evening the gnocchi was being served, and the dense little chunks were soft with the faintest al dente bite that I don't associate usually with Western-style gnocchi. I'm not sure I still like it more than traditional stranded pasta, but for a Thursday tradition I can easily made exceptions for this quality.