Turkish Kebabs, Melbourne 03-2016

I was in the mood for a nice souvlaki or doner kebab. The memories of Yarralumla Pide House were lingering and making me salivate. I was working night shift so needed something relatively quick. A search of Footscray came across an extraordinarily highly rated Footscray's Best Kebab House (no fooling you in the name) but I didn't have the time to walk. Instead I found a South Melbourne store that was semi enroute with a drive.

Turkish Kebabs (aka Kebabs on Clarendon) was well rated and even on a Friday night the streets were quiet and parking was exceptionally easy.

For some reason I succumbed into ordering the iskender, which had some nice chicken and lamb from the spit, very good pieces of Turkish bread underneath, and topped with yoghurt and tomato sauce (my preference is for garlic/tzatziki and chilli). It took about 20mins to make (which they informed me at the start) and I thought for the price of $17.5 it came with salad and dips and things but unfortunately it didn't classify as a meal, so got a $4.5 of tabbouleh on the side. It was ok, full of parsley, but seemed to lack a bit of zing and zip.

For $22 it was a solid meal but just seemed too highly priced. I think I would've enjoyed a standard $10 doner in Turkish bread with long strands of meat mixed with garlic and chilli sauce.

Turkish Kebabs Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato