Uluh, New York City 07-2021

A friend who ours (Cantonese who likes expensive Chinese food) now living in New York gave us a few options to meet over dinner. Her favourite was Uluh, although she had been there the night before already. Considering she told us she goes there 1-2x per week anyway, she was quite happy to go again (and they certainly recognise her) and it definitely had the most interesting menu of the places recommended.

I remember Chinese food up until about 12 years ago was basically Cantonese - it was only when I discovered Hunanese and Sichuan did I realise there is so much more (and better in my opinion) Chinese regional cuisine out there. Sichuan has been my favourite since then and I'm always happy to try a new place for this especially one with some more modern touches. Actually our waiter said the menu was very traditional, although I would have to say it is definitely different to the standard menus, nicer ingredient options, and prices to match (even for NYC).

A drink of cold Uluh soymilk with red bean and mochi USD12 was a nice sweet starter to the hot, humid NYC weather. The mochi was very gooey. Definitely not a traditional start.

- Woodear mushroom salad USD10;
- Lobster with salty egg yolk USD46 - I really like salty egg yolk coatings but most often find them on prawns or tofu. This fancy lobster version stood out and definitely needing to try once in my life. The coating was crisp and mildly salty and not enough to overpower the lobster flavour (maybe that's why the prawn versions seem more flavoursome in the coat?), the lobster meat was good although maybe a touch on the chewy side. Still nice;
- Mapo duck blood tofu USD20 - I was a little hesistant to order this, not so much for myself but for my fellow 2 diners who didn't seem sold on it. It's my partner's favourite Chinese dish (minus duck blood) and so wanted to see how they did it. I am so glad I did, because this remarkable dish had silken tofu that was texturally similar to the silken blood cubes (discernible by colour obviously and a more earthy flavour) in a spicy oily coat topped with spring onion and angel hair chillies. Simply the best version I've ever had and one of my favourite dishes ever eaten;
- Vegetarian dry pot USD26 - a simple dish ordered for more vegetables. This was an outstanding dish with perfectly balanced flavours of spice, numbing and savoury. The textures of soft fungus, chewy tofu skin and crunchy lotus was a wonder;
- Stirfried okra in XO sauce USD18 - more tastiness in a more savoury and chewy sauce. Excellent once again;
- Mango juice sago pomelo with mochi USD12 - a sweet ending to wash down the salt and flavour.

It ended up being way too much food for 3. I suppose I expected smaller serves because of the more upmarket menu. Also the strong heavy flavour means you eat less overall anyway. Looking at their online menu now I can see all prices have gone up by about $2 (or in the case of the lobster $12!!).

It is simply one of the best Chinese meals I've had. I wish we had a fridge/microwave so I could have taken the leftovers home myself. I would come back for that mapo duck blood tofu alone though. Until (if there is a) next time...