United Latino Cocina, Adelaide 10-2015

During my last trip to Adelaide in February I starred a lot of places around Rundle Mall. It was unexpected that the highest rated place on Urbanspoon was ULC - a lunch only Mexican place with remarkable reviews.

Finally on a hot 33C October afternoon I made it there walking through the sunny streets in a suit. Considering it would quite possibly be my last trip to Adelaide for a long time I had to ensure that the heat didn't affect my food choice, particularly when it came to adding the selection of spicy sauces.

- Elote (grilled corn on the cob with chipotle mayonesa, lime & dry cheese) $3.90 - my hybrid recipe using Thomasina Mier's, Melbourne's Mamasita and online recipes is still my overall favourite, but this was a nice version with juicy corn, salty cheese and a mild chilli mayo;
- Mexican Traffic (fried eggs with pork chipotle mince, fresh tortillas, cilantro pesto, rice, black beans, crema & salsa Mexicana) $14.90 - of all the menu items I think the reason I picked this was that the overall ingredients list appealed to me. I think in overall combination it is something I wouldn't usually have selected for myself. It was a nice meal of carbs soaking up the sauces and various condiments. It wasn't as (heat) hot as I expected for a rice dish and I ended up adding quite a lot of extra sauce to add the taste which I wanted. It was decent but not particularly special and I'd try a different dish next time.

Next time I would order Sloppy Jose, ULC Dog or Quesadilla and an added taco (probably fish) on the side. I'd wash it down with a Latin American flavoured soda also.

United Latino Cocina Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato