Wong's Lucky Bar, Melbourne 05-2014

I don't remember any restaurant being next to the tram stop at Box Hill. Honestly I've only ever caught a tram from there once in my life and figured any building on the median strip itself would be similar to everywhere else in the world - a milk bar, some takeaway food shops, maybe a newsagent. When I heard the cheapest lobster and crab place in town was there, I was surprised. 4 years it's been there? Even more surprised.

The place is a basic cafe, nothing more to expect. You aren't going for service or nice surroundings or to be seen. You go for two reasons - lobster ($25.80 per pound) and crab ($11.80 per pound). Manage your expectations accordingly. I've heard that some of the crabs only have one claw - that would be unfortunate given the most accessible meat in a crab is in the claw. I'd suggest requesting one with two claws (if they allow it) or stick to lobster under those circumstances. Otherwise go somewhere more reputable (and more expensive). XO sauce costs $10 more - I don't understand why, it just does. The usual thick ginger sauce it fine enough, although if you order too many serves of noodles you might find there isn't enough sauce to smother it.

How is the food? The crab is delicious. The meaty parts of it are at least. I've always had an aversion to picky tiny bits of crab meat in amongst spitting out bits of shell. It's why I avoid crab unless it had good claws (variable), thick meaty legs (eg. Scandanavian king crabs) or picked out and created spectacularly for me (eg. Cervejaria Ramiro in Lisbon). I can understand why one claw only would be annoying (we were lucky with 2 crabs and 4 claws).

The lobster is average. The meat is quite generous in amount, but unfortunately the texture lacks the spring and is closer to a thick chicken breast. The flavour is there at least.

I'd go back again for a crab (with 2 legs) and give the lobster another try. If it wasn't for the price I probably wouldn't.

Wong's Lucky Bar on Urbanspoon