Yianni's on Hindley, Adelaide 10-2015

I was looking for something close to my hotel (Adelaide Rockford) to eat during a late Wednesday afternoon. Interestingly enough Zomato didn't have many options that were open, looked relatively fast and very decently rated. Funnily enough a souvlaki store down west past the university and away from all the other food places seemed to shine out.

Considering the Greek influence I became subjected to in Melbourne around the high school age of 16, I've valued a really great souvlaki. Over the past 4 years my favourites have changed from the supremely tasty and fatty Stalactites, to the wonderful authentic pork version in Bairaktaris and more recently the upmarket tender lamb version from Jimmy Grants. In Adelaide I had previously tried a place up north designated "home of the Ab" and found their meat to be reasonable but still lacking the intense herbed flavour I prefer.

Yianni's on Hindley had pretty good comments and there were plenty of workman ordering the enormous full sized yiros. In order to try 2 of the 3 meats on offer, I purchased 2 mini sizes. Each of those is very big on their own and could easily be a full meal (for $7!!). I ordered the lamb (as typical for yiro in Australia). In retrospect I should've made the other chicken for a bit of contrast, but the pork version from Athens weighed heavily in my mind. The lamb was nice, reasonable flavour, decent meat with some fatty bits. The pork version was a bit chewier and didn't really have much additional marinade flavour.

Next time I would order the chicken version to see how much flavour they can get out of it. Otherwise I'll settle quite happily for a mini yiro lamb.

Yiro or giro?

Yiannis on Hindley Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato