Yuzu by Nicholas Vanaise, Ghent 02-2012

Belgium and chocolate are things that are often linked together. I was a little wary after my first visit to Belgium in 2009, as I'd been told fries were also well reputed, but honestly they are pretty average.

But for chocolate there was greater hope. I'd read that locals eat supermarket chocolate and save the expensive brands for gifts. I'd previously headed straight to the top - Pierre Marcolini and the reputation for dark chocolate. I'd also tried a few other big brands, but my favourite from 2009 had been a small local shop in Bruges (which I never jotted the name down) where I bought a small block of dark chocolate and almond that amazed my tongue a few days later.

Yuzu is a Japanese slightly sour citrus fruit. Nicholas Vanaise (who runs this shop himself) prides on minimalist approach, interesting flavour combinations (including yuzu and other things Asian), and quality chocolate.

On this day I tried a few small pralines, macarons and mailed a large dark chocolate rabbit (the one with the wheelbarrow) back to Australia as an Easter gift. The chocolate flavours were unique - I think I much prefer a nice standard excellent dark with or without nuts, but this was more of an experience.

It is open Tuesday-Saturday.