Almacen de la Sal, Lanzarote 01-2013

On my one trip to Playa Blanca, choosing somewhere for dinner proved a quandary. I spent 90mins walking between my final two choices of Almacen de la Sal (recommended as the favourite restaurant on a website of someone who looked like they knew what they were talking about) and Los Hervideros (TA #4 for Playa Blanca and the highest rated Spanish entry for the resort).

I was torn between the recommendation and specials board of Almacen (although it was located right on the waterfront, which is almost always a negative for me) and the good reviews of LH (although the menu is quite plain and the restaurant seems to only be attended by middle-aged tourist couples).

In the end I chose Almacen thinking that their specials gave them an advantage. Unfortunately I regret my choice.

- Mejillones Tigre (special of chopped up mussel meat into a stuffing then deep fried) - I chose this special instead of the usually reliable Mussels in White Wine. The stuffing only had a minimal amount of mussel flesh and even less taste drowned out by the fried coating;
- Croquetas de Centollo (special of housemade croquettes of spider crab) - minimal crab meat with even less taste drowned out by the fried coating and the other filler;
- Langoustines al la Cava (king prawns in champagne sauce) - slightly overcooked, not particularly large prawns saturated in a very creamy oil sauce which did have a champagne taste but therefore there was no prawn taste.

Next time I would order from Los Hervideros or try and find somewhere else. If you are determined to eat here, perhaps the paella/rice/stew dishes (must be ordered for a minimum of 2) or unadulterated seafood would be a much better idea.