Apollo Bay Bakery 02-2016

After last month's traipse around Hobart for the local delicacy scallop pies (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/salamanca-bakehouse-hobart-01-2016) I was surprised and happy to discover Apollo Bay had its own reputed one.

After having dinner at La Bimba the previous evening and being introduced to the Bakery's smooth brioche, I was excited to return the next day for a scallop pie.

There's two types available - mornay and curry. Sticking to Hobart's tradition I tried the curry version for a high sticking price of $10. Although on the small side, the pie is excellent. Crisp pastry (would prefer a little thicker) with nice curry and 3 or 4 small but thick scallops with excellent strong flavour. It's expensive and not the most convenient to get to, but I dare say I liked it more than Hobart's offerings.

There's a huge stack of other pies to pick from as well as some bread (including a roasted pumpkin sourdough which I'm hoping may rival the outstanding tangy, spongy version occasionally sold at Crust Bakery in Fyshwick).

Apollo Bay Bakery Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato