Burgastronomy, Adelaide 12-2013

Burgers - all the rage. Melbourne, Canberra and Adelaide seem to have picked it up the last few years. Although I don't think any have yet been able to recreate the same sense of fulfilment as London's MEATliquor and Tommi's, I'll keep trying to see if I find one.

Burgastronomy is one of Adelaide's contenders for their burger crown. It's in North Adelaide which makes it potentially a little further away from the hustle? Nonetheless I'm sure it's popular at peak drinking times.

One of the nice interior touches is the grungy cartoon/graffiti on the walls. It adds colour and I'm sure in the evenings creates a different atmosphere or focus while you line up to order. I was a bit hungry and maybe ordered more than I should. Oh well, I don't think I'll be returning to (North) Adelaide for a while...

- The Hot One (Hot) - beef, lettuce, cheese, chipotle BBQ & mayonnaise. The meat is decent quality but probably cooked a little more than I'd like. It's nice and the burger doesn't fall apart. The Hot rating is about right for me. A little chilli burn but nothing painful or that slows me down in eating;
- Sweet Potato Chips - everyone seems to comment on how inventive these are. Granted they are good, but it also made me think some of these people probably haven't been around much. Nonetheless these ones were very nice, sweet and served piping hot with a salty outside. It had some crisp to it too which is great;
- Southern Fried Chicken - succulent chicken, crispy outside, not overly salty. I liked it.

When I ordered I asked "how hot is hot?" They answered 8.5-9/10. Useless information. How does it compare to Nando's Hot? Don't know. Well that isn't useful either. Sitting down eating and realising that my hot burger was probably about the same as Nando's hot gave me the idea of an app that allows you to rate the heat of dishes around the world so you know what to order for yourself if you ever go. I still think it's a good idea (although not really money making), but I'd use it.

Next time I would order a Southern Fried Chicken burger (probably Hot Bacon Bird). The chicken was great, and the table near me where everyone had that (and the cook was a family member, so I assume he knows what's best) made me wish I had too. Otherwise the free standing chicken is good too.

Burgastronomy on Urbanspoon