Cafe-Bar Mercado Atarazanas, Malaga 04-2019

Atarazanas market is a wonderful place. There are 3 different sections of the market, 1 dedicated to fruit and vegetables, 1 to meat and 1 to seafood. Within each of these sections are a few standup counters (although some serve food at tables outside) where you can stand around, order fresh seafood and have a drink.

It's hard to know which to go to. I looked online and saw Bar Atarazanas mentioned and so looked there. An elderly gentleman local to Malaga told me he thought this one was the best, but each had their own opinion. I suppose it would be easiest to look at the menu and see what you want to eat. For example this bar does not have gambas rojos or carabineros, if that was what you were after.

- Mejillones (mussels) €6 - from the menu I thought these were grilled, but they are steamed. After my initial disappointment I savoured them and enjoyed the rich mussel saline flavour and particularly the fact that these mussels actually fill the shell!;
- Navajas (razor clams) €4.5 - gorgeous pieces with herbs, salt, paprika and garlic oil. Divine, especially for that price;
- Conchas finas (smooth clams) €2.5 - he asked if I wanted this grilled. Instead I took it raw and I like raw clams. This was average and didn't have nearly as much ocean flavour as I hoped. I wouldn't get it again;
- Pincho de pulpo (octopus skewer) €3.5 - other stalls served a whole tentacle grilled but that would be too much food. So this little skewer had to suffice. It wasn't the best I've had, but it was adequate.

I also tried my neighbour's fried jibia (cuttlefish) which was similar but thinner and slightly crunchy compared to calamari.

I would happily go back to this market anytime including eating here or elsewhere. There is so much to take home to cook too...