Cafe Orlando, Dubrovnik 10-2012

Location on the very main central road of Dubrovnik Old Town would ordinarily mean beware. If it wasn't for a specific recommendation I read to have breakfast here, I wouldn't have come.

The prices are made for location and perhaps aimed towards lazier people. I must admit it is an outstanding place to people watch as the hordes filter through the town surrounded by the amazing buildings of Dubrovnik Old Town.

Considering the drinks were priced well beyond what I was willing, I opted for the sole item of Omelette with Dalmatian Smoked Ham HRK72. Smoked Ham is another well regarded gourmet item throughout the region and so it seemed the perfect opportunity to have breakfast, eat at this recommended cafe, people watch and try this meat.

The omelette  itself was very well made with a soft luscious creamy egg interior. The smoked ham was a revelation - beautifully smoked and cured and equivalent taste to some of the best jamon I've eaten. Wow that was unexpected.

Next time I would order the same Omelette with Dalmatian Smoked Ham. If you prefer to keep off the main road, there is another cafe just up from Kamenice in the market square that lists the smoked ham as a breakfast option with or without eggs and other things.