Casa Vincente, Malaga 04-2019

On a dreary humid, rainy Monday, I searched for a late lunch. Vincente had a reputation for good prawns so I sought it out. I liked the counter side but didn't realise they also have a seated section on the other side. I ended up there which was fine, although the atmosphere was quite different.

I wasn't sure if it was grilled or fried prawns that were the special. I suppose my clue should have been the grilled where listed on the menu first and "Gambas Plancha" is in big writing at the front of the cooking window. I asked my server which was better - he answered something I couldn't decipher in typical Andalusian Spanish, and before you knew it I had both. Hmmm.

The little grilled ones were clearly better. Much more flavoursome although it could also be that they were heavily coated in salt. The fried ones were plain and seemed to lack flavour.

I'll try somewhere else next time. The Atarazanas market is a much better option in my opinion.