E For Ethel, Adelaide 12-2013

After a few short evenings of work in North Adelaide, it seemed appropriate to find a reasonable breakfast before flying out. I'm not sure what the standards of things were around here (probably similar to an Australian country town I'm thinking), but regardless if people are giving a 96% (85 votes) rating on Urbanspoon, it can't be all that bad.

After a 15minute walk east, I came just in time for the 10am opening. As the first and only customer thusfar, I got first pick of tables and food. The room has some lovely cute homewares, although the only thing I picked up was a delightful birthday card that reminded me of someone in London.

- Cherry tomatoes, fresh basil + feta bruschetta - tomatoes were good, feta was good, bruschetta was good and balsamic salad nice contrast. But the basil was surprising - they used Thai basil! I've never had that before. It was such a different flavour and so unexpected. Such a simple dish, but worthy of adding to my list of things to recreate at home when I'm out of ideas.

The soy chai latte was ok. There wasn't much gingerness detected, but it was nice and the cinnamon was carefully added and not caked on like many places outside Melbourne seem to do.

There's some granola, fruits, breads, bagels and salads to pick from. The menu isn't extensive nor sound unusual, but there was a twist in my dish so you never know...

E For Ethel on Urbanspoon