El Peix Daurat, Valencia 10-2013

I'm not sure where I came across this name. It isn't in any of the guide books and looking online now suggests that it is closed. It wasn't a particularly convenient area either, requiring a solid walk west of the city centre. I didn't feel unsafe but I can see how some might wandering through dark streets with only a few strangers and street lights for company.

The place was sold to me as modern tapas and the setting really felt like the downstairs of a family home. There were tables around the sides, a stairs that I wasn't sure where they lead, and a central area where the food was cooked.

- "Calabres" Cheese Croquette €1.5
- Mini Truffled Duck Burger with Caramelised Onions €3
- Coca Pork Tenderloin, Torta del Caser Cheese & Spinach €3
- Galician octopus on mash €9.5
- Tarta de queso €5

Overall the meal was reasonable without being as exciting or outstanding as I hoped. The duck burger was probably the one I was most interested in (during my slider phase) but didn't deliver a strong sense of truffles nor duck meat.