Fenocchio, Nice 11-2018

There are a surprising number of artisanal icecreameries in the Nice old town. Unfortunately I only could try one in the short afternoon in Nice. I wanted Azzurro but who knows why they were closed on a Monday. Fenocchio was the other choice and very closeby there too.

There's an extraordinary number of flavours to match the large number of people waiting despite cold, wind and some rain.

Avocado isn't a flavour I see often and so I tried it. Unfortunately the pale colour should have informed me that it would be akin to underripe avocado, and indeed it was without a strong flavour. The pistachio underneath was better although much less potent than at Gusto in Antibes. I asked if I could sample the glowing green Tourte de Blettes (which the waiter told me was vegetarian and spinach based) but he refused and said no it wasn't possible. Really?

We also tried the a simple crepe which was texturally excellent. How do they do it...