Guilin Mifen 01-2010

I'm resigned to the fact that I'll never rediscover where some of these places I ate in China are, simply because they have no English names and I would only know if I retraced my steps (not impossible given my Lonely Planet China that I relied upon).

After crossing a very rickety bridge in Guilin to look for a breakfast, and being confused by an elderly man not happy about my presence (and no such eatery to be found), I went back to the town and wandered through an indoor passageway that happened to include a noodle place. This was my first encounter with Guilin mifen and sadly it has been my last too.

The noodles were assembled by a lady adding bits and pieces including soy beans, pork and some kind of broth and the result was a very savoury tasty noodle dish with a tiny bit of soup served in a simple metal bowl.

I haven't found any recipes for mifen online (in English at least) since searching periodically in 2010, including Chinese cookbooks that I've come across. Although it seems there may be a few starting to surface online now...