Hawksmoor Guildhall, London 03-2017

I don't eat steak that much any more. I tend to prefer slowcooked cuts more. Part of me also thinks I can cook a decent steak at home just buy purchasing from an excellent quality source. My last steak meal was exceptional (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/don-julio-buenos-aires-11-2016) and maybe it isn't right to compare as Don Julio is one of the top restaurants in the world. Nonetheless you can't change your experiences and although Hawksmoor does have good quality food, it just isn't the same.

I've had two previous experiences at Hawksmoor, first for steak where none were cooked correctly (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/hawksmoor-spitalfields-london-042012) and secondly a better experience in the downstairs bistro at Spitalfields where pigs head poutin was the go-to-dish.

This evening I saw the elegant beauty of the Guildhall. It really is a stunning interior. One of the special rib eyes (served without bone) was about 650g and cooked rare as ordered. Obviously it means the outsides were medium to medium-rare but that suited my dining partner. The meat was quite tender and seasoned. The anchovy sauce recommended wasn't strong enough for my liking.

Accompaniments were beef dripping fries £4.5 (very well cooked), mac & cheese £5.5 (not bad but nothing special) and English lettuce & herb salad £4 (lettuce with some herbs).

The meal was fine but for £65 (and £50 for the meat) I just expected more. I think it reinforced the reason I don't frequent steakhouses anymore.

Hawksmoor Guildhall Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato