Koya, London 02-2013

 I've never been as much a fan of udon as ramen. Even in Japan, any udon place I ventured never compared in terms of flavour, complexity nor satisfaction. For that same reason, I wasn't particular interested in trying Koya, except that so many reviews had extolled it as one of the best noodle venues in London. Like a trooper, I decided it best to know firsthand.

- Kakuni (braised pork belly with cider) - a few pieces of pork belly, slightly chewy but with ok flavour;
- Buta Miso Udon - a tiny bowl of udon, a small amount of pork floss rather than pieces, and an expensive £2 egg on request. Flavour was ok but extortionate pricing and not very satisfying.

I didn't think the flavours were outstanding, and the serving sizes and prices were well off. How could anyone choose this over the nearby ramen venues? It is beyond me. I ended up filling my stomach next door at Mooli's afterwards.

Next time I would order the Tempura Udon or one of the Hot Pots. They are more expensive but hopefully better value for moeny. Better still, go to Tonkotsu or Bone Daddies.

Koya on Urbanspoon