Nova Pombalina, Lisbon 10-2013

I didn't get a chance to sample a big slab of Portuguese suckling pig. I had a place written down, but never quite made it there. One of the compromises was to get to the best pork sandwich in Lisbon.

Nova Pombalina is known for the lunchtime snack of sandes de leitao or suckling pig sandwich. For me this was the first stop after a late morning wakeup in the hostel. It seemed the perfect breakfast alternative start to the day (before a pastel de nata of course).

The pork flesh was succulent and delicious. The bread was simple and a good carrier. The skin was soft and tasty, although I would have preferred some nice crispy texture. You can't ask for much more for the price. Maybe mustard would have brought it even further up, but that could just be the English-food influence in me.