O Churrasco, Lisbon 10-2013

Peri-peri chicken. Made famous around the world by Nando's. It's a good relatively fast food option in Australia, and for some reason a more sit-down *finer* option in London. Strangely enough the London version tastes better and has better quality chicken. Who knows why?

Needless to say, when going to Portugal it is a priority on many people's list to eat the traditional peri-peri chicken. There were a few options to pick from in Lisbon, and I dare say had I not found such a good seafood place, or was on a stricter budget, I would have tried more than one.

In the end O Churrasco won due to it being the choice of the lovely local hostel receptionist who gave me many food listings as options. The more well-known (to tourists perhaps) is Bonjardim around the corner. I'd be keen to try that one next time as the smells wafting from the restaurant walking past were quite lustful.

- 1/2 Roasted Chicken on the Spit - the roast is charcoal cooked to a slightly crisp finish. The chicken was juicy and quite good. The peri-peri part itself was actually a chilli oil that you paint on yourself with a brush. This is significantly different to the peri-peri thick sauces I was expecting (courtesy of Nando's). The chilli oil was mild but didn't add much salt flavour. At least I know what authentic is meant to be now;
- Creamed Spinach Leaves - this was the recommended (by the waiter) traditional side to have. It's similar to a mash potato, except green and made of spinach. It is smooth and buttery and surprisingly delicious.

Next time I would order the same things. You don't really come here to specifically eat anything else off the menu. I'd probably try Bonjardim as somewhere different (possibly better) and see if the tourist hype is lived up to.