Ottolenghi, London 10-2013

Considering the immense influence Ottolenghi has had on my dining preferences I'm surprised I hadn't written this blog post earlier. I first came across the name back in 2010 when looking for good vegetarian cookbooks and the names Ottolenghi and Plenty. Once I planned to move to London, it was a name that I intended to go searching for to see what the originals tasted like.

Funnily enough my first experience was with the more conveniently located Nopi (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/nopi-london-09-2012) with a gluten-free friend. The food that evening was exceptional, both meats and vegetarian and gave me a taste as to what is was all about. It wasn't until my second last day before leaving that I booked a final lunch with friends and ticked Ottolenghi in Angel off my list.

The display has a beautiful selection of cakes and tarts to finish off the meal of colourful salads. The selection is by a main and accompanying salads to compose an artwork dish.

- Chargrilled salmon with anchovies, mint, parsley, capers & lemon salsa
- Roasted pumpkin with sundried tomato dressing, chickpeas, red onion, cumin, feta, barberries & herbs
- Roasted aubergine with black garlic yoghurt, fried chilli, caramelised hazelnuts & herbs
- Mixed peppers & brown bulgar tabbouleh with mixed nuts, red onion & pomegranate seeds

The salads read like a dream concoction that illustrates just how Ottolenghi has put salads and Middle Eastern cuisine on my culinary map. The salmon was well cooked but served cold, which I found unusual (but I suppose it is a salad bar). It did seem quite expensive for a lunch salad plate so I wouldn't frequent there but for the occasional splurge and excellence of colour and flavour (and reputation) I'm glad I went.

Ottolenghi Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato