Piriquita, Sintra 10-2013

Sintra is home to some of the finest gardens, castles and architecture that I've seen. It really is beautiful in this area. Unbeknownst to me (at the time), it happens to also have one of the most highly reputed sweet bakeries. Funnily enough after my soup at Alcobaca, the waiter asked if I wanted anything else. I asked if they had queijada to which he replied we don't, but the place down the road is the best.

The crowd outside which spilled around the inside counter showed that this was a place to visit. After taking a number in true deli fashion, you wait to order and stare at the goodies being dished up around you.

The two essential things to try are: queijada and travesseiro. There's a lot of others, but being on my own and not a big sweet tooth, that seemed enough calories for the afternoon.

- quiejada - essentially a custard tart, and not a cheesecake as I was expecting. Still nice;
- travesseiro - soft pastry that is filled with an egg and almond cream and topped with sprinkled sugar.

Join the masses. Try the local sweet delicacies. You shouldn't avoid it.